Thames Path 100, 2017, part 1: the numbers

received_10154303121841780

I usually write really long race reports, and it takes me ages to write them, so this time I thought I would try something new and start with a shorter post focusing on the numbers. So part 1 is for all you statistics fanatics out there (this post is more or less a write up of a telephone conversation I had with my dad earlier today), part 2 will follow soon with all the gory details for those of you who likes to read about body fluids etc.

Thames Path 100 

Official distance: 100 miles (161 km)
Actual distance: probably slightly longer, according to the race briefing
The distance I ran, according to my watch (Suunto Ambit 2, normally quite reliable distancewise): 104,2 miles/167,7 km.

Comment: I missed a bridge just after the check point at Cookham, at around mile 40. I ran for about a mile on the wrong side of the river before I realised my mistake and backtracked. I also had another little detour before that when the crew of another runner pointed me in the wrong direction (not on purpose, they were trying to help). A 100 mile race always comes with a few bonus miles, and the navigational errors were entirely my own fault. The sections were I went off course were the ones I have run the most times before, since I knew the way I enjoyed the scenery too much and stopped paying attention to the signs and markers.

Finishing time: 16.55.43
Women’s race: 1st
Overall placement: 5th

Comment: This was my first time on the top of the podium in a 100 mile race, in my previous two 100 mile finishes I placed 3rd and 2nd among the ladies. This was also the first time I managed to get into the top 10 overall in a 100 mile race. In addition to lots of first times resultswise the finishing time is also my fastest 100 mile time ever, and a 2 hour + improvement on my finishing time on the Thames Path from last year (19.11). A friend of mine also sent me some interesting statistics from a Norwegian endurance sports website. According to this list, last updated 19.2.17, my finishing time of 16.55 is the fastest ever 100 mile time by a Norwegian female. It is also the 5h fastest ever 100 mile time by any Norwegian, male or female. (Also more than one hour faster than my former coach Sondre Amdahl’s WSER result from 2015. He said as a joke (I think) last year that he hoped I would not beat this time – oops!) Despite all the talk about 100 milers being the new marathon and the increasing popularity of ultra racing it seems there are only 10 Norwegian women who have officially completed a 100 mile race. In Norway 24 hour and 100k races seem more popular, probably because it was only last year Norway’s first ever 100 mile race was arranged.

Average pace: 6,2 mph/9,9 km/h

Comment: this pace is based on the distance my watch says I ran,  ie pace based on official distance will appear slower. It also includes all the stops at aid stations, actual moving pace ranged usually ranged between 10 and 11 km/h. Sprinting to the finish I managed to push the pace to 14,4 km/h (4.10 per km), my normal half marathon pace. Not bad after 160 + km! It also meant I overtook Steven Lord, one of the favourites in the men’s race, with less than half a mile to go. The first half of the course is quicker than the half, but I seemed to manage to keep my pace more consistent than most, overtaking several runners in the later stages of the race, and gaining on most of the runners in front of me in the last 10 miles. In my first ever 100 miler I had a 5 hour positive split, this time I managed to keep it down to 1 hour.

Average marathon splits: 4 hours 15 min

I have been asked two times already today if I’m satisfied with my performance. Based on the numbers above I would have to be a huge perfectionist/diva to find anything to complain about. Just in case you are wondering: I’m absolutely ecstatic! Hopefully I can put in a good performance at the next three races in the 100 mile grand slam too. So far it’s looking promising, my legs feel fine and I don’t seem to have picked up any injuries. (Also a first after a 100 miler, I injured my knee in the NDW 100 in 2015, and got tibialis anterior tendinitis after the Thames Path last year.)

I will add more stats and numbers if I can think of any more interesting stuff to put up, or if I get quizzed about anything in particular. Gory details to follow, as promised before. (Also more pictures.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Thames Path 100, 2017, part 1: the numbers

  1. Du hadde også den raskeste tiden av alle fra Abingdon og inn til mål (1 time og 27 minutt og 28 sekund).

Legg igjen en kommentar

